

Highlighting research achievements; Honoring first-time PIs and new PI Millionaires.

Feb. 26, 2021 3 PM The University of Memphis Virtual Celebration



#### Welcome

M. David Rudd

President

University of Memphis

#### Tom Nenon

Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost University of Memphis

## FY 2020 Achievements & Faculty Recognition

Jasbir Dhaliwal

Executive Vice President

Division of Research & Innovation

#### Class of 2021 PI Millionaires

This year's PI millionaires join 108 of their UofM colleagues in achieving this prestigious designation.

#109

Robin Poston

Department of Business

Information and Technology

#110

Loretta Rudd School of Liberal and Professional Studies

#111

Christine Bertz
College of Education

#112

Anita Boykins Loewenberg College of Nursing



# First-Time Principal Investigators (FY 20)

## **Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law**

Meredith Aden

Kathryn Ramsey

### **Loewenberg College of Nursing**

Eric Bailey

Anita Boykins

Jill Dapremont

#### Department of Biological Sciences

Shawn Brown Jim Adelman

#### **Department of English**

Donal Harris

#### **School of Communication Sciences and Disorders**

Jani Johnson

#### **College of Health Sciences**

Kelly Simonton

#### **Department of Earth Sciences**

Deborah Leslie

## Herff College of Engineering

James McGinnis

#### **Department of Chemistry**

Kensha Clark

#### Department of Mathematical Sciences

Su Chen

### **Fogelman College of Business & Economics**

Damon Fleming Enrica Ruggs

#### **Department of Computer Science**

Xing Gao

### **Center for Earthquake Research and Information**

Thomas Goebel

Christodoulos Kyriakopoulos

#### **School of Social Work**

Robin Lennon-Dearing

#### Department of Physics and Materials Science

Francisco Muller-Sanchez

## **Department of World Languages and Literatures**

Hironori Nishi

### Institute for Intelligent Systems

John Sabatini

#### **College of Communication** and Fine Arts

William Shaltis

#### **Department of Political Science**

Kris-Stella Trump



# Special Recognition



Ranga Gopalkrishnan Mechanical Engineering

**DoE Career Award** 



**Amber Jennings** *Biomedical Engineering* 

**NSF Early Career Award** 



## FY 2020 Principal Investigators

\* Denotes First Time Pls **Bolded** Names are Pl Millionaires

James Adelman\*

Meredith Aden\*

LilyAfshar

William Alexander

Mohd Ali

David Arellano

Ebrahim Asadi

Eric Bailey\*

Madhusudhanan

Balasubramanian

Debra Bartelli

Brennan Berg

Kristoffer Berlin

**Christine Bertz** 

**Gavin Bidelman** 

**Richard Bloomer** 

Maria Botelho

Dale Bowman

Anita Boykins\*

**Timothy Brewster** 

Keri Brondo

Shawn Brown\*

Laura Casey

Su Chen\*

Eunseo Choi

Kensha Clark\*

Amy Curry

Jill Dapremont\*

Russell Deaton

Elena Delavega

Nathan DeYonker

Susan Elswick

**Gary Emmert** 

Ali Fatemi

Damon Fleming\*

Rhema Fuller

Xing Gao\*

Charles Garner

Michail Gkolias

John Gnuschke

Thomas Goebel\*

Ranganathan

Gopalakrishnan

Daniel Greenwood

Andrew Guthrie

G Guy

Michael Hagge

Donal Harris\*

Melissa Hirschi

Kathryn Howell

Xiangen Hu

Xiaohua Huang

**Stephanie Ivey** 

**Eddie Jacobs** 

Jessica Jennings

Chunrong Jia

Jani Johnson\*

Satish Kedia

Robert Kozma

Christodoulos

Kyriakopoulos\*

Mohamed Laradji

Daniel Larsen



## Every once in a while, a new technology, an old problem, and a big idea turn into an **innovation**.

—Dean Kamen

Justin Lawhead

Mark LeDoux

Robin Lennon-Dearing\*

Deborah Leslie\*

Meghan McDevitt-Murphy

James McGinnis\*

Duane McKenna

Claudio Meier

James Meindl

Courtnee Melton-Fant

Bashir Morshed

Francisco Muller-Sanchez\*

**James Murphy** 

Hironori Nishi\*

D. Kimbrough Oller

**Andrew Olney** 

Sally Parish

Abby Parrill-Baker

Philip Pavlik

Brandt Pence

Shahram Pezeshk

Latrice Pichon

Robin Poston

Douglas Powell

Kathryn Ramsey\*

Amanda Rockinson-

Szapkiw

Steven Ross

Loretta Rudd

Enrica Ruggs\*

Vasile Rus

John Sabatini\*

Maryam Salehi Esfandarani

**Chrisann Schiro-Geist** 

William Shaltis\*

Nicholas Simon

Paul Simone

Kelly Simonton\*

**Robert Smalley** 

Matthew Smeltzer

Jack Strahl

Genae Strong

Kris-Stella Trump\*

Marie van der Merwe

**Brian Waldron** 

**Gregory Washington** 

James Whelan

A. Brooke Willis

Alistair Windsor

Mitchell Withers

Yong Yang

Stephen Zanskas

Todd Zoblotsky



# Research Impact Top Faculty by Citation Count

NAME	TITLE	CITATION COUNT
Art Graesser	Professor of Psychology and Institute for Intelligent Systems	62,223
Gayle Beck	Lillian and Morrie Moss Chair of Excellence in Psychology	34,472
Shaun Gallagher	Lillian and Morrie Moss Professor of Philosophy	30,215
Xiaohua Huang	Associate Professor of Chemistry	29,897
James Gurney	Dean and Professor in Division of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Environmental Health	25,063
Gary Bowlin	Chair of Excellence and Professor of Biomedical Engineering	19,374
Dipankar Dasgupta	Hill Professor in Cybersecurity and Director, Center for Information Assurance	18,388
Irena Lasiecka	Professor and Chair of Mathematics	16,771
Kimbrough Oller	Professor and Plough Chair of Excellence, Communication Sciences and Disorders	16,038
Ali Fatemi	Ring Companies Endowed Professor of Mechanical Engineering	15,141
M. David Rudd	President, University of Memphis	13,062
Frank Andrasik	Distinguished Professor of Psychology	12,566
Kurt Kraiger	Professor and Chair of Management	11,521
Huigang Liang	Professor and FedEx Chair of Excellence, Business Information Technology	11,188
Hongmei Zhang	Professor and Director, Division of Epidemiology, Biostatistics, and Environmental Health	10,376
Charles Langston	Professor of Siesmology and Earth Science and Director, Center for Earthquake Research and Information	9,230
Erno Lindner	Professor of Biomedical Engineering	8,867
James Murphy	Professor of Psychology	8,588
Lan Wang	Professor and Chair of Computer Science	8,502
Christos Papadopoulos	Professor and Sparks Family Chair of Excellence in Global Research Leadership	8,252

