English Department Writing Prizes and Scholarships 2020 Winners

WAGENHEIM PRIZE FOR UNDERGRADUATE ENGLISH MAJORS

\$500.00 for the best literary essay

Stephen Artner, for his essay "Erotic Knowledge: The Allure of the Unknown in the Hebrew Bible"

WAGENHEIM PRIZE FOR UNDERGRADUATE ENGLISH MAJORS

\$500.00 for the best short story

Isabelle Aldridge, for her story "Sweetness"

RACHEL ST. PAUL POETRY PRIZE

\$500.00 for the best group of poems by any UVA undergraduate

Aline Dolinh, for her collection "Doppelgangress Theory"

HANNAH KAHN POETRY PRIZE

\$100.00 for best poem by a fourth year English major

Maggie Weaver, for her poem "Stopping by Walnut Creek Park"

THE ACADEMY OF AMERICAN POETS PRIZE

\$300.00 for the best poem or group of poems by a graduate student in English

Lydia Brown, for her poem "The Dream House"

BALCH PRIZE FOR A GRADUATE STUDENT IN ENGLISH

\$300.00 for the best short story

Gahl Pratt Pardes, for her story "Courage"

Honorable Mention: Raisa Tolchinsky, for her story "Rates and Vessels"

BALCH PRIZE FOR A MASTER'S STUDENT IN ENGLISH

\$500.00 for the best M.A. Thesis

Fain Riopelle, for his study "Learning to Learn to Write: Adapting the Principles and Practices of Cognitive Behavioral Therapy into First-Year Writing Curricula"

THOMAS J. GRIFFIS PRIZE FOR GRADUATE STUDENTS IN ENGLISH

\$1000.00 for the best essay by a student in the first year of graduate work

Catherine Walshak, for her essay

"A Poet is a Self-Made Thing: Self-Branding and Commodification in Instagram Poetry."

THOMAS J. GRIFFIS PRIZE FOR GRADUATE STUDENTS IN ENGLISH

\$1,500.00 for the best essay by a student beyond the first year

Matthew Martello, for his essay "The Notebook, Laocoön, and Blake's Beauties of Inflection."

GOSNELL PRIZE FOR BEST ESSAY IN A FIRST-YEAR WRITING CLASS

Britney Cheung, for her essay "To Paint a Memory," and her instructor Natalie Thompson

MICHAEL WAGENHEIM MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Stephen Artner	Selina Cheng	Tom Pollard	Ebenezer Sampong
Madison Aurnou	Anouck Dussaud	Josy Raheem	Lyla Ward
Jacob Baker	Yixuan Liu	Aaron Rose	Salem Zelalem

PETER AND PHYLLIS PRUDEN SCHOLARSHIP

Madison Aurnou	Abby Glaubit	Ebenezer Sampong	Elliot Van Noy
Jacob Baker	Emma Karnes	John Shimazaki	Skylar Wampler

WILLIAM AND CHARLOTTE SAVAGE SCHOLARSHIP

Emma Bradford

Bradley Sheen

Distinguished Majors Program

2020

Kristen R. Barrett

"Transatlantic Conversations: Literary Subversion in *Iola Leroy* and *The Real Charlotte*"

Advisor: Jennifer Greeson

Xara Natasja Davies

"From Sex to Slaughter: Agency and Gendered Violence in Carol Ann Duffy's *The World's Wife*"

Advisor: Mrinalini Chakravorty

Nora Pehrson

"As If in a Book: Everyday Reading in Wallace Stevens"

Advisor: Mark Edmundson

Josy Raheem

"Abject Imagery and the Function of Disgust in Julian of Norwich's *A Revelation of Divine Love*"

Advisor: Elizabeth Fowler

Anne Elizabeth Whitney

"Trauma in Anna Burns' *Milkman*"

Advisor: Victor Luftig

Sarah Rush Woodard

"When the 'Defined' Define: Ethical Functions of Language for Black Women in Toni Morrison's *A Mercy*"

Advisor: Tamika Carey

Eileen Ying

"Capital Transmissions: Mattering Race in Ling Ma's Severance and Ruth Ozeki's My Year of Meats"

Advisor: Sylvia Chong

English Department additional Student Honors and Awards, spring 2020

Graduate Student Awards

Samuel Lemley is the sole winner of the **Distinguished Graduate Teaching Award in the Arts and Humanities**, among the highest honors that a graduate student can earn in recognition of their dedication to teaching at the University of Virginia.

Joseph Wei and Sarah Winstein-Hibbs are among only ten graduate students across the Arts and Sciences to have won the **All-University Graduate Teaching Award**, in recognition of their dedication and outstanding achievement as teachers.

Jordan Burke has won the 2020-2021 **Society of Fellows Dissertation Fellowship** for scholarly excellence.

Evan Cheney, Julianne McCobin, Anne-Marie Thompson, Sarah Winstein-Hibbs, and Jordan Burke (declined) have won **GSAS Dissertation Completion Fellowships,** in recognition of the excellence of their dissertation projects and their work in the department.

Tucker Kuman has won a 2020-2021 GSAS Teaching Relief Fellowship for academic excellence.

Cherrie Kwok has won a Jefferson Fellowship, a two-year award that the Jefferson Scholars Foundation offers for outstanding achievement and highest promise as a scholar and teacher.

Ankita Chakrabarty, Karen Huang, Heidi Siegrist, and Joseph Wei have won PhD Plus internships for all or part of the 2020-2021 academic year.

The winner of the **2020 Henfield Prize**, given to a creative writer in our graduate program for an excellent work of fiction is third-year poetry MFA student **Aimee Seu** for her story "Continued Existence." The judge for this year's award is the distinguished writer **Dinaw Mengestu**.

<u>In his citation for "Continued Existence," Mengestu writes:</u> "Continued Existence is a strikingly original, almost radical story, one that gathers energy and meaning through its intricately carved sentences that not only demand but deserve close and careful reading. The story haunts and lingers in the imagination, in no small part because of its wise and thoughtful depiction of faith and its role in determining and shaping our lives, even when absent."

Mr. Mengestu also noted as an <u>honorable mention</u> the riveting power of "Guided," a novel excerpt by **Acacia Johnson**.

Suzie Eckl has won the **2020 Sydney Hall Blair Award for Excellence in Teaching**. The Award is meant to recognize each spring one "[second-year female fiction student] deemed by the Creative Writing Program faculty to be an especially effective, innovative, and devoted instructor of undergraduates."

Grace Alvino, Elise Foote, and Cherrie Kwok have all been named 2020-2021 Praxis Fellows at the UVA Scholars' Lab.

Cherrie Kwok, Wei Liu, Bridget Reilly, and Lloyd Sy have won Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences Summer Research Fellowships, to be used any time between this summer and the end of summer 2021.

Eyal Handelsman-Katz and Hannah Loeb have won scholarships to the **Cornell School of Criticism and Theory**, including admission to some online programs this summer and the on-site program next summer.

Stephen Hager and Samuel Walker have won scholarships to the **Harvard Institute for World Literature**, planned for Belgrade but happening this summer online instead.

Wei Liu and Matthew Martello have won scholarships to the **T.S. Eliot International Summer School** in London, postponed until next summer.

Undergraduate Student Awards

Kristen Barrett has won a **2020 Marshall Scholarship**. She will pursue a Master of Studies degree in English, focusing on English literature from 1830 to 1914, at the University of Oxford; as well as a Master of Studies degree in Film Studies at the University of Edinburgh. She is UVA's 15th Marshall Scholar.

Eileen Ying has won a **2020 Rhodes Scholarship.** At the University of Oxford, she will pursue Master of Studies degrees in both World Literatures in English and in Women's Studies. She is UVA's 54th Rhodes Scholar.