



- > +200 VIDEOS LECTURES
- (125-150) MOCK TEST + SECTIONAL TEST
- **TOPIC WISE TEST**
- **SESSION PDF WITH SOLUTIONS**
- E-BOOK





subscribe our channel

INDIAN POLITY-8

The Union and its Territory: Part I (Articles 1-4)

ARTICLE 1: NAME AND TERRITORY OF THE UNION

- (1) India, that is Bharat, shall be a Union of States.
- (2) The States and the territories thereof shall be as specified in the First Schedule.
- (3) The territory of India shall comprise –
- (a) the territories of the States;
- (b) the Union territories specified in the First Schedule; and
- (c) such other territories as may be acquired.

ARTICLE 2 : ADMISSION OR ESTABLISHMENT OF NEW STATES

<u>Parliament</u> may by law admit into the Union, or establish, new States on such terms and conditions as it thinks fit.

ARTICLE 3: FORMATION OF NEW STATES AND ALTERATION OF AREAS, BOUNDARIES OR NAMES OF EXISTING STATES

Parliament may by law –

(a) form a new State by separation of territory from any State or by uniting two or more States or parts of States

or by uniting any territory to a part of any State;

- (b) increase the area of any State;
- (c) diminish the area of any State;
- (d) alter the boundaries of any State;
- (e) alter the name of any State

ARTICLE 4: LAWS MADE UNDER ARTICLES 2 AND 3 TO PROVIDE FOR THE AMENDMENT OF THE FIRST AND THE FOURTH SCHEDULE AND SUPPLEMENTAL, INCIDENTAL AND CONSEQUENTIAL MATTERS

Commissions

The **Dhar commission** appointed to study this issue suggested administrative rather than linguism as basis for reorganisation.

JVP commission [J Nehru – Sardar V Patel – P Sittaramaiya] was created and this too rejected linguistic reasons to create states.

However after the death of Potti Sriramallu on hunger strike for a separate state to Telugu speaking areas, congress created Andhra Pradesh.

The similar demand from other side led the government to appoint **Fazl Ali committee** that accepted linguistic basis as one of the four important points for creating states. The government accepted the report and passed the **state** reorganization act and 7th amendment.

So 16 states and 6 UT were created.

New States and Union Territories created after 1956

- The State of Andhra' was created by the Andhra
 State Act, 1953, Andhra Pradesh. comprising certain
 areas taken out of the State of Madras, and It was
 renamed 'Andhra Pradesh' by the States
 Reorganisation Act, 1956
- The State of Kerala was created by the States
 Reorganisation Act, 1956, in place of the Part B State
 of Travancore-Cochin of the original constitution.

- The Bombay Re-organisation Act, 1960, divided the State of Bombay to establish the two States of Gujarat and Maharashtra.
- The State of Nagaland Act, 1962 created Nagaland as a separate State.
- The Punjab Re-organization Act, 1966 divided Punjab into Punjab and Haryana.
- New State of Himachal Pradesh comprising of the existing Union Territory of Himachal Pradesh was established by the State of Himachal Pradesh Act, 1970.
- New State of Manipur, Tripura, Meghalaya and Union Territories of Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh were established by North Eastern Areas (Re-organization) Act, 1971. Later Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh Achieved Statehood by State of

Mizoram Act, 1986 and State of Arunachal Pradesh Act, 1986.

- New State of Sikkim was established by Constitution (36th Amendment) Act, 1975.
- The State of Goa Act, 1987 incorporated Goa as a separate State of the Union.
- Chhattisgarh was formed as a result of Madhya Pradesh Re-organisation Act, 2000, which came into being on November 1, 2000.
- Uttaranchal came into existence by Uttar Pradesh Re-organisation Act, 2000 on 8th November, 2000, comprising the northern district of Kumaon and Garhwal hills of Uttar Pradesh.

- The State of Jharkhand was established by Bihar Re-organisation Act, 2000 on 15th November, 2000, by comprising eighteen southern districts of Chhota Nagpur and Santhal Pargana areas of Bihar.
- The State of Telangana was created by Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014 and came into being on 2nd June 2014.