UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA FLORA L. THORNTON SCHOOL OF MUSIC DR. ROBERT A. CUTIETTA, DEAN

66TH ANNUAL

HONORS CONVOCATION

THURSDAY, MAY 13, 2021





UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA FLORA L. THORNTON SCHOOL OF MUSIC



HONORS CONVOCATION

IN RECOGNITION

Congratulations and thanks to the following dedicated staff:

30+ YEARS

Damien Elwood Gordon La Cross Susan Lopez

20+ YEARS

KIT BELLAMY
JEFF DE CAEN
LIGAYA LEWIS
PHILLIP PLACENTI
SHARON VANG

10+ YEARS

MATTHEW BURMOOD EVAN CALBI KRYSTA CLOSE A. PHOENIX DELGADO ADRIANA GONZALEZ LIBBY KIM MARVIN MUNSON MICHELLE SIMONSEN JOB SPRINGER NANCY WONG

SCHOLARS & AWARDS

RENAISSANCE SCHOLARS

Scholar distinction recognizes undergraduate students who have excelled in their studies while completing a major and a minor (or two majors) in widely disparate fields of study. The objective is to achieve breadth and depth in two widely separate fields of thought.

CAMERON AUDRAS
KAITLIN GLADD
CAMILO GONZALEZ-SOL
CLARICE KWAN
CHANDLER LAWN
ERICA LEE
DARA PHUNG
MOLLY TUTT

DISCOVERY SCHOLARS

The Discovery Scholar distinction honors undergraduate students who excel in the classroom while demonstrating the ability to create exceptional new scholarship or artistic works in any major concentration offered at the University.

CAMERON AUDRAS
MAXWELL BECK
LILA FORDE
BENJAMIN LINDENBURG
ANGELA MCPHEE
SAMUEL OSTROFF
NOA ZIMMERMAN

PI KAPPA LAMBDA AWARDS

BACHELOR'S • JUNIOR

Sophia Barnard • Music Performance, French Horn Linda Diaz • Music Composition

BACHELOR'S • SENIOR

CAMERON AUDRAS · MUSIC PERFORMANCE, VIOLA
BENJAMIN CROSS · MUSIC PERFORMANCE,
VOCAL ARTS
VIVIAN STOVER · MUSIC PERFORMANCE,
VOCAL ARTS

MASTER'S

AIDAN GOLD · MUSIC COMPOSITION YAFEU TYHIMBA · JAZZ STUDIES, BASS

DOCTORAL

NICOLAS LELL BENAVIDES · MUSIC COMPOSITION
JUAN PABLO CONTRERAS · MUSIC COMPOSITION

ENSEMBLE AWARDS

The Ensemble Award is conferred by the director upon the student or students who have made the most significant contribution to the ensemble during the year.

THORNTON ORCHESTRA

CAMERON AUDRAS BRADLEY BASCON DAVID KANG KEVIN TSAO MOLLY TUTT

WIND ENSEMBLE

RACHEL CAMPAGNA ALEX CHANG SARAH MEIDEL HANNAH SOBELMAN CAMERON WILKINS

CHAMBER ORCHESTRA

YE LIN (STELLA) CHO ALLAN HON ANNE RANZANI YUN-CHIEH SUNG SARAH WILKINSON

APOLLO CHOIR

SAWYER LAZAR

UNIVERSITY CHORUS

RITA BARAKAT

ORIANA CHOIR

Yulissa Rodriguez Peggy Yangzhen Zhang

CONCERT CHOIR

Camila Grases Linda Diaz David Park

CHAMBER SINGERS

Lydia Brown Yotsawan Meethongkum Colston Rienhoff

CLASSICAL GUITAR ENSEMBLE

Mircea Gogoncea Brendon Grabowski Tengyue Zhang

THORNTON EDGE

BENJAMIN WEBSTER

BAROQUE SINFONIA

ERIC TINKERHESS ROBERT WANG HEJUN YANG

COLLEGIUM MUSICUM

JAE HWAN KIM

COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT PROGRAM

MICHELLE KARDOS MICHAEL NEUFELD HANNAH SOBELMAN LEAHA MARIA VILLARREAL SHELBY WONG

JAZZ ENSEMBLES

ETHAN CHILTON NIKO EMBRY SPENCER LEMANN ANDRE SUDOL LUKE WOODLE

ENSEMBLE AWARDS

KEYBOARD STUDIES ENSEMBLE

EVELYN LEE BARRY TAN

KEYBOARD COLLABORATIVE ARTS ENSEMBLE

JOHN-MICAH BRASWELL JI-YOON LEE BRANDON LINHARD YOU ZHAO

OPERA

Powell Brumm Benjamin Cross Alec Fore Sarah Wang

MUSIC PRODUCTION MOST VALUABLE COLLABORATOR

SOPHIE FELDMAN ASHLEY FULTON JOHNNY MAY

MUSIC INDUSTRY ENTREPRENEUR

PARIS WATSON

POPULAR MUSIC ENSEMBLE

EDWARD BORDEAU WILL EASLEY SOONA LEE-TOLLEY DAVID MCINNES MARIA MCMILLAN

TROJAN MARCHING BAND

SOPHIA BARNARD TERRY COWLEY REMY GILBOE LEO LERNER ZAC WICKHAM

STUDIO GUITAR ENSEMBLE

PATRICK GILBRIDE DANIEL KALISHER STEWART KIM JARRET MYERS RAY WARTH

STRING CHAMBER MUSIC ENSEMBLE

SHANG KO (SUNNY) CHAN ALLAN HON DAVID KANG JENNY (YUN-CHIEH) SUNG KEVIN TSAO

PERCUSSION CHAMBER MUSIC ENSEMBLE

PAUL MATTHEWS

BRASS CHAMBER MUSIC ENSEMBLE

TERRY COWLEY
REMY GILBOE
ALEX MELZER
RICHARD TORNEROS FRANCISCO
DEREK ZIMMERMAN

WOODWIND CHAMBER MUSIC ENSEMBLE

Donghoon Paik Sara Petty Deanna Pyeon Anne Ranzani Jeffery Wasik

SPECIAL AWARDS & PRIZES

COMPOSITION DEPARTMENT MOST VALUABLE PLAYER AWARD

CONNOR LEIGH SHAW

PETER DAVID FAITH ENDOWED MEMORIAL AWARD IN COMPOSITION

LUCA MENDOZA

SuperPiano, for Bar Room Piano & Live Processing

JIMMY MCHUGH COMPOSITION PRIZE ENDOWED BY LUCILLE MEYERS

JOSHUA EDWARD

You Talk, video

BRUCE ZALKIND MEMORIAL ENDOWED MUSIC AWARD

JAVIER MORALES
RAYMOND WYANT

SADYE J. MOSS ENDOWED MUSICAL COMPOSITION PRIZE

THEODORE HABER Floating Fields, album

HANS J. SALTER ENDOWED MUSIC AWARD

ASHLIN HUNTER

Synthetic Violet, for string quartet and MIDI string quartet

MITCHELL LURIE AWARD

ERIC BRALEY
ALEX CHANG
MADS HOLTENBANG
HEESOO KIM
VICTOR MARTINEZ JARA
JAVIER MORALES-MARTINEZ
DONGHOON PAIK
DANIEL PARK
ANDERS PETERSON
ALEXANDER TU

VINCE DEROSA MUSIC AWARD FOR FRENCH HORN

SOPHIA BARNARD RACHEL KIM

STEPHEN MAXYM MEMORIAL MUSIC SCHOLARSHIP

Anne Ranzani

ROBERT MARSTELLER MEMORIAL ENDOWED MUSIC AWARD

DOMINIC DIAZ EMILY HANDY BRAD MOLLER

PRESSER GRADUATE MUSIC AWARD

ETHAN CHILTON

PRESSER UNDERGRADUATE SCHOLAR

RAIVYN HEARNE

NATHANIEL ROSEN STRING PRIZE AND TRAVEL GRANT FUND

ANNELISE HAUKENES

KANTER MUSIC INDUSTRY AWARD

ELISABETH EASTON, SHEA HANKE, ANNEMARIE ROOS, AMANDA SANCHEZ Bebop n Blues

BLAKE HUXELL, CLARISSA KIM, TED LIN-CEREGHINO Music Over Metrics

DEPARTMENTAL AWARDS

The Departmental Award is conferred by the faculty upon those students at each academic level who have been judged to be the department or program's outstanding graduates.

CHORAL MUSIC

RANDI ANDERSON, B.A. SHELBY STROUD, M.M. SHOU PING LIU, D.M.A.

CLASSICAL GUITAR

EDWARD MARTINEZ, M.M. PARDY MINASSIAN, G. Cert.

COMPOSITION

CAMILO GONZALEZ-SOL, B.M. THEODORE HABER, B.M. AIDAN GOLD, M.M. BENJAMIN WEBSTER, M.M.

JAZZ STUDIES

Lauren Ellis, M.M. Yafeu Tyhimba, M.M.

KEYBOARD COLLABORATIVE ARTS

JOHN-MICAH BRASWELL, M.M.

KEYBOARD STUDIES

ANDREW EDWARDS, B.M. CHRISTOPHER ERLING, B.A. MATTHEW KRELL, M.M. ELOISE KIM, D.M.A. ATHENA TSIANOS, G. CERT.

MUSIC INDUSTRY

CHANDLER LAWN, B.S.

MUSIC TECHNOLOGY

JESSE MUNSAT, B.M. Noa Zimmerman, B.M.

MUSIC TEACHING AND LEARNING

CHRYSA KOVACH, M.M. BEN MAKARCHUK, M.M. MICAH BLAND, D.M.A.

EARLY MUSIC

ARIANA DAVIS, M.A.

POPULAR MUSIC

SAWYER IKEDA, B.M. CAMERON LEE, B.M. AYONI THOMPSON, B.M. MATTHEW WARD, B.M. NOA ZIMMERMAN, B.M.

STRINGS

CAMERON AUDRAS, B.M. REBECCA LAWRENCE, M.M. YE LIN (STELLA) CHO, D.M.A. NAO KUBOTA, G. Cert.

STUDIO GUITAR

JORDAN SAMUELS, M.M. MAX SMITH, D.M.A.

VOCAL ARTS

VIVIAN STOVER, B.M. KATHRYN KIBOTA, M.M.

WINDS & PERCUSSION

RACHEL CAMPAGNA, B.M. DEANNA PYEON, M.M. ANNE RANZANI, M.M. EDGAR MELENDEZ, D.M.A. DONGHOON PAIK, G. Cert.

SPECIAL RECOGNITION AWARDS

BRANDON MEHRLE SFRVICE AWARD

In recognition of individuals who have shown extraordinary support for the USC Thornton School of Music through a commitment of energy and professional expertise.

YOON CHO ADAM KARELIN

STAFF RECOGNITION AWARD

In recognition of extraordinary dedication and commitment to the USC Thornton School of Music.

JI-EUN PARK

THE RAMO MUSIC FACULTY AWARD

Established in 1971, the Ramo Music Faculty Award is conferred by the faculty and students upon a faculty member in recognition of outstanding contribution to music and education, to the USC Thornton School of Music and University of Southern California, and to Humanity.

THE 2021 AWARD IS CONFERRED UPON LARRY LIVINGSTON

OUTSTANDING GRADUATES 2021

BACHELOR'S

CHRISTOPHER ERLING • B.A., KEYBOARD STUDIES LILA FORDE • B.M., VOCAL JAZZ

MASTER'S

AIDAN GOLD · M.M., COMPOSITION

NON-DEGREE PROGRAMS

SABRINA BOUNDS • G. Cert., FLUTE PERFORMANCE

DOCTORAL

YE LIN (STELLA) CHO · D.M.A., CELLO PERFORMANCE

FACULTY & STAFF PROMOTIONS

FACULTY PROMOTIONS

AARON SERFATY, SENIOR LECTURER DAVID ARNAY, SENIOR LECTURER

STAFF PROMOTIONS

KYLE SHAFIEE, DIVISION MANAGER FOR THE CLASSICAL DIVISION



